May 11, 2017/Press Releases

CT Dems announce 2017 CDP award winners

Hartford, Ct. – The Connecticut Democratic Party today announced that the 2017 John M. Bailey Award will be given to Connecticut’s refugees and those who welcome them and will be accepted by Integrated Immigrant and Refugee Services (IRIS) Executive Director Chris George.

“This year’s CDP Dinner will be a little different,” said Connecticut Democratic Party Chairman Nick Balletto. “Instead of honoring just one person who has contributed to building our party with the Bailey Award, we have decided to pay tribute to the many people across Connecticut who have sprung to action in recent months to welcome refugees and advocate on their behalf. Despite misinformation and fearmongering from some, Democrats have worked together with activists to make Connecticut a stronger, safer, and more welcoming place. There is perhaps no group more invested in these ideals than IRIS, and I look forward to presenting this award to Chris George.”

In addition, the prestigious William T. O’Neill Award for leadership will be presented to former UConn Men’s Basketball Coach Jim Calhoun.

“Jim Calhoun is much more than a great basketball coach — he’s also a great Democrat,” said Balletto. “Coach Calhoun has helped grow our party by engaging in grassroots campaigning and advocacy. This well-deserved award will give Connecticut Democrats the opportunity to pay tribute to a true leader for our state.”

The John M. Bailey Award and the William T. O’Neill Award are given annually at the Connecticut Democratic Progress Dinner. This year’s CDP Dinner will feature Senator Cory Booker as keynote speaker and will be held on June 10 in Hartford. Those wishing to attend this year’s dinner can purchase tickets here.


Senator Cory Booker, Connecticut Democratic leaders, elected officials, activists


Connecticut Democratic Progress Dinner


Connecticut Convention Center
100 Columbus Blvd, Hartford


Saturday, June 10, 2017
Media check-in begins at 4:30 p.m.