January 13, 2021/Press Releases

Connecticut Democrats Re-Elect Party Leadership

Connecticut’s Democratic State Central Committee tonight has re-elected Chairman Nancy DiNardo of Trumbull and Vice Chairman Erick Russell of New Haven to lead the state party for two-year terms. 

Audrey Blondin of Litchfield was re-elected Secretary and Norwalk Town Chair Eloisa Melendez was re-elected as Treasurer. Maria Valle of Bridgeport was elected to her first full term as Assistant Secretary. 

The leadership team, whose term begins February 1, will focus on supporting the incoming administration of President-elect Joe Biden, and preparing for the municipal elections later this year.  

“I’m honored to be re-elected to lead Connecticut Democrats. It’s been a challenging year and I am grateful to Democrats across the state who joined us to develop new, safe ways to conduct the party’s business through this unprecedented pandemic and these historic political times. We’ve got a lot of work ahead and I look forward to working with members of the Democratic State Central Committee,” DiNardo said.

Nancy DiNardo was re-elected state party Chairman in a special DSCC election in June 2020, completing the term of former Lieutenant Governor Nancy Wyman. DiNardo was serving as the state’s Democratic National Committee member when she took over the post in June. Before that, she made history as the first woman to serve as Chairman from 2005 to 2015. DiNardo has led Connecticut Democrats through three successful Presidential election cycles in 2008, 2012 and 2020.

Erick Russell is a New Haven-raised attorney who serves as Chair of the LGBT section of the Connecticut Bar Association, as the Co-Chair of Connecticut Cares for Lambda Legal, and as a member of the Connecticut Criminal Justice Commission. 

Audrey Blondin has been a member of the Democratic State Central Committee since 2002, representing the 14 towns of the Northwest Corner.  She was one of the Committee’s first women attorneys and has served as a delegate to Democratic National Conventions.   

Eloisa Melendez is the Town Chair of Norwalk’s Democratic Town Committee.  She served for 6 years on the Norwalk City Council, first elected at the age of 19. 

Maria Valle serves on the Bridgeport City Council as representative of the 137th District. She is a member of the Connecticut Democratic State Central Committee for the 23rd State Senate District.