September 30, 2020/Press Releases

Massachusetts Congresswoman Ayanna Pressley to Keynote CT Dems Annual Women’s Leadership Brunch

U.S. Congresswoman Ayanna Pressley of Massachusetts will be the keynote speaker for the CT Democrats annual Ella T. Grasso Women’s Leadership Awards Brunch this Sunday, Oct. 4th, joining Governor Ned Lamont, Congresswoman Rosa DeLauro and Democratic leaders and activists from across the state.

The annual brunch, virtual this year due to the coronavirus pandemic, honors Democratic women from every Congressional District across the state who provide great service to the state party and are nominated by their peers. In addition, there are awards for an outstanding Democratic Town Chair and  in honor of Grasso, the first woman to be elected Governor of Connecticut. 

This year’s event will also include a new Ruth Bader Ginsburg Award, given to a woman who is working on the frontlines to advance issues that the late Supreme Court Justice fought for. 

Pressley was elected to the 7th Congressional District in Massachusetts in 2018, becoming the first woman of color to be elected to Congress from the Commonwealth.

The event is open to the press. Registration here. 


Ella Grasso Award: Lieutenant Governor Susan Bysiewicz 

Ruth Bader Ginsburg Award: Susan Yolen, New Haven 

Town Chair AwardBeth Hogan, East Lyme 

First CD:

Rosemarie Tate, West Hartford

Patricia Tiberio, Wethersfield

Second CD:

Joan Gay, Killingworth

Michelle Gilman, Colchester

Third CD:

Karen Tracy, Stratford

Audrey Tyson, New Haven

Fourth CD:

Becky Martin, Westport

Eloisa Melendez, Norwalk

Fifth CD:

Millie Torres Ferguson, Meriden

Myrna Watanabe, Harwinton